Why You Need to Pick One Good Boat to Row

9 Feb


The video in this post is the introduction to a presentation I did in the beginning of February at the Rebecca School. I wanted to help people to remember that our model, the DIR model, Floortime, the Greenspan Model, is a wonderfully flexible model, rooted in the best developmental science, and is very effective. I start by talking about Rembrandt, and a painting I love, Aristotle with a Bust of Homer. I talk about the fact that all Rembrandt used was linseed oil, pigment and a little solvent, to paint these luminous paintings. Then, I talk about an idea I first learned from Pema Chodron, the American Buddhist teacher, of picking one boat, and staying in it; of avoiding boat shopping. We, at Rebecca School, have chosen the simple, child and family friendly tenets of DIR/Floortime, as our simple tools, our boat, and we intend to stay in it. Finally, I talk a little about a great PBS Series, This Emotional Life, where they talk about the theoretical underpinnings of good, scientifically based, developmental interventions. Finally, we end up in my kitchen for a summing up. Enjoy the talk; there are a lot of other pretty cool posts coming in the next couple of weeks, so I will talk to you all soon.

Leave a Reply

