Archive | 1:02 pm

ABA Detox, How to Help Kids with ASD Get Over ABA

22 Apr

 

In this video I talk about the ways in which an ABA intervention can create the problems it is designed to try to help with. I talk about how ABA takes the child’s mistaken belief that things are causally linked because they are linked in time and space and actually uses that as the basis for the intervention. That is prescribing the Problem as the Solution for the Problem! So, when we initially see kids for DIR/Floortime support, we see a period of ABA Detox, where the kid has to learn that he or she has ideas, even what an idea might be, and that he is free to act on his or her ideas.

I think ABA causes many of the symptoms we have come to associate with ASD.

While you’re here, take a quick look at my new, updated website. I went for an entirely different look. Click here for Gil’s New Website.