Music Therapy and DIR, “Not Autistic Anymore.” MAR-AMTA

5 Apr

We are just back from Saratoga, and I am hard at work trying to send all of you who have requested them the slides from the conference. For all of you who were not able to be there, this is Part 1 of a presentation Stacey Hensel and I did at Mid-Atlantic Region of the American Music Therapy Association’s annual conference in Saratoga on 4/1/2011. We presented on how important interactive, improvisational music therapy is when trying to get kids on the autism spectrum in a continuous flow. I presented the DIR/Greenspan Floortime Model briefly, and then we showed a therapy session we did jointly. Then I presented some very preliminary results from a research study we have been working on for 5 years about the efficacy of the DIR model at attacking the core deficits of autism, and how necessary the music therapy is to that intervention. This video is to be followed by other videos of the rest of the presentation.

8 Responses to “Music Therapy and DIR, “Not Autistic Anymore.” MAR-AMTA”

  1. Floortime Lite Mama April 7, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    I really loved your post and watching the video
    you are doing such great work
    I am guessing the video of the actual session is to follow – and I am looking forward to it very much
    I have a request –
    In one place you mention that after you have heard something for the nth time you “just want to kill the child”.
    Of course, I understand that this is just an expression but as the mother of an autistic child – it hurts to hear expressions like these in relation to autistic children.
    Our children are treasures to us mums – autism and all

    • Gil Tippy April 7, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

      Thanks so much! And of course you right. I sometime say things to get the audience’s attention, and this was one of those instances. You are completely right, and I would change it to something better considered next time. Thanks again for you support. I can’t wait until you see the session!

      Gil

      PS: I went back and removed the insensitive remark. It’s ok that you know I am insensitive at times, but there is no reason to perpetuate the insensitivity.

  2. Floortime Lite Mama April 8, 2011 at 7:53 am #

    Dr. Tippy
    I am blown away by your graciousness !
    Thank you so much

  3. Floortime Lite Mama July 28, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    how are you doing
    I see you have not updated your blog for a while – – I enjoy your posts

    • Gil Tippy July 30, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

      Hi,

      I have been so hard at work on the book, “Respecting Autism”, that I co-wrote with Dr. Greenspan, that I have neglected the blog, it’s true. The good news is that the book will be published in the next couple of weeks! I am really proud of it. Dr. Greenspan’s untimely death last year delayed the publication, but I think the finished product is something that he would have liked. The book was finished right before his death, but all of the details had to be done before it could hit the stores. Thanks for checking on me. I will be posting soon.
      Gil

  4. k- Floortime Lite mama July 31, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    look forward to your book

  5. Antoinette Morrison November 11, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Dr. Tippy I was in attendance at the conference at The Center for Discovery. I am also a Nordoff/Robbins trained Music Therapist. who works primarily with kids on the spectrum. Living in an area that prides itself in the trainings of ABA, I often feel like I have flown in from Mars. It was very satisfying to hear your presentation. I have taken this one and put it on my web site rather than attempt to write it down myself. (www.backmountainmusictherapy.com) Thank you so much for making your work and thoughts public!

    • Gil Tippy November 12, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

      Thank you, Antoinette. I really appreciate your feedback, because to stand up and say what you think about certain interventions always is a little nerve-racking. But, if any group is going to really get what kids need in terms of developmentally appropriate intervention it is a Nordoff Robbins trained music therapist! I look forward to many years of collaboration with brilliant improvisational interactive music therapists. I hope to be at MAR AMTA in March, so maybe I will see you there.

      Gil Tippy

Leave a Reply

