Dr Tippy on School, Home, Mentors, and Stanley Greenspan

6 May


This is a very heavily edited version of a talk I gave at the invitation of the Columbia University Children’s Rights Group. They asked me to speak on the subject of “Home”, and I chose two notions, in loco parentis, and how following a child’s lead is more “home” than imposing your ideas on a child. I spoke about, and showed a picture of Stanley Greenspan, as I thoughtit was important for people to know who this man, the creator of this wonderful child centered model, was and is. I have to mention, for those of you who know him, that there is also a picture of my mentor, George Wilson, my high school basketball coach and friend.

2 Responses to “Dr Tippy on School, Home, Mentors, and Stanley Greenspan”

  1. Jill May 6, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    Hi Gil,

    Thank you for this. I recently created a facebook “cause” page specifically targeting the Judge Rotenberg Center and it’s inhuman treatment towards children with disabilities. I’ve also been contacting a few organizations to see how we can help shut the school down (quite a feat, I know, but something needs to be done so why not try!)
    Would it be ok to re-post this video on facebook? I think it’s great how you discuss it, and the concept of “home” is so important for a child to feel safe, free, and successful in an education setting.

    All the best,
    Jill Lucente

    • Gil Tippy May 6, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

      Jill,
      I am so happy to see this. Repost this where you want.I am so happy to be part of an intervention that does not commit acts against kids in the name of “treatment”. There is never an excuse to aggress against a kid. As Stanley Greenspan said, “The good guys have to win!” Let’s all fight to help make sure the good guys win.

Leave a Reply

