We all lost a friend and mentor

30 Apr

I have waited a couple of days before speaking about the passing of my friend and mentor, Dr. Stanley Greenspan. I know that many people could say the same thing, friend and mentor, as he was a friend to children and families everywhere who longed for loving humanity in treatment, and he was a mentor to us all in the brilliance of his work, his dogged determination, and his abiding kindness to kids and families. The world is diminished by the loss of his shining light, but he taught, cajoled and supported so many people that his vision, and the intervention he created, DIR, will grow and prosper.

My thoughts are with his loving family today.

3 Responses to “We all lost a friend and mentor”

  1. John Carpente April 30, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    Lovely words, Gil. He has touched so many souls. His spirit will continue to live through the lives of the all of the children and professionals that he has blessed with his wisdom, passion, compassion, humanism and love. When I sing, so does he. Dr. G will live in every note we sing, lyric we write and every continuous-flow we live in. It’s time “to get cookin!”

    John

  2. Floortime lite mama April 13, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    Truly his passing away filled me with such sorrow.. Even though I never met him .. I felt like I knew him through the radio shows and training DVD’s .. But thanks to professionals like u his work goes on

  3. Gil Tippy April 13, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    It’s been about a year, and I am still sometimes surprised that he has gone. Today, at 3:30, I am leading a large case conference on a child. We do this every Wednesday; and leading this case conference used to be Dr. Greenspan’s job. I stepped into the role with his passing, and while I think I do a good job, I know the difference. I feel lucky to have been able to have learned from him for the last five years.

    Well, we’re sad, but he left a legacy that it is our duty to maintain and expand, if we can. Let’s all to our part, and maybe relationships, and thinking based curriculum, and child development based teaching will be the rule, rather than the exception.

Leave a Reply

