Part 2 of Dr Gil Tippy, Young Shoe, Mrs Shoe, The Principal and Woody

1 Apr


This is the continuation of the video in which a kid challenges me to bring puppets to play with his puppet, and I resort to my shoe. I was admonished in a comment on the previous post that I was being a little directive to call it traditional play therapy. Isn’t that wonderful?! I was worried about the people in the DIR/Floortime world thinking I was too directive, and inadvertently brought to my attention another part of the child therapy world that believes in following a child’s lead! So here, Floortimers, are our natural allies, the dynamic communityusing play therapy to help children of all developmental levels. I really believe, that if we could see our way past our differences, we could put together a coalition of therapists who use relationship and respect to treat children, and there would be a lot more of us than the people who believe that they need to punish and train children, or drill their memories. Maybe someone will take the lead and put together a way for us all to get together, and make legislatures listen to what we know to be the right way to treat children.

3 Responses to “Part 2 of Dr Gil Tippy, Young Shoe, Mrs Shoe, The Principal and Woody”

  1. Keith April 1, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    Right On Gil!

  2. Kristin April 27, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    Thanks for clarifying your approach/goals in this post . . . I think we do actually as therapists do a lot that crosses theories, we just call them different things. I’ve now become more curious to know more about the tenets of floortime in practice. And while this is definitely not how I would approach a puppet session as a nondirective play therapist, it was interesting to watch.

Leave a Reply

