Gil Tippy, PsyD about Good Vs. Bad OT in Autism

18 Jan


This video is about what the kids that I see for intake in various venues, The Center For Parents and Children, in Seacliff, Higher Standard Spectrum Services, In Oyster Bay, and The Rebecca School, in Manhattan, are getting for OT when I first meet them. This is a group of kids who have terrible processing, great vision, great hearing, and difficulty in proprioception and vestibular feedback. They can’t put together a motor plan based on the input they are getting, they have trouble mapping their bodies, they therefore have trouble mapping the world, and as a result, if they continue as they are, they will never become the abstract thinkers they will need to be to function to their full capacity. Good sensory OT, by well trained OT’s is a necessity, and clinicians who can coach parents to do some of this work in support of the good OT program need to be supported.

7 Responses to “Gil Tippy, PsyD about Good Vs. Bad OT in Autism”

  1. Kingkaew Pajareya January 22, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    I found that the OTs I met usually interprete the kids like the mechanics trying to fix the cars.

    Wken the engine sound like this. this mean that …..is broken. We have to fix it.

    When there is….., it means that….

    They did not see the kid as a whole person who is influenced by his context.

    They do not noticed what happened before the kid start tip toeing or hand flipping? What is his feeling? Is it a sign is a compensation for somethings?

  2. Gil Tippy January 22, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    Thanks for the comment. I will post a little 2 minute video that talks about hand flapping. I have to edit it out of a talk I did on Wednesday this week, and it might answer the question for you a little bit.

  3. Lori Jackson January 30, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    I can’t believe that either of you are professionals. You are making the broadest of generalizations, very similar to the racists in our society. You should be ashamed Gil. You make sweeping recommendations regarding what type of intervention the children with autism should be receiving. Just because you put in a disclaimer that you are not an OT does not mean you can then go on and say these things you are nowhere near qualified to say. Could you please tell your audience where, when, and from whom you received your training in sensory integrative theory and treatment?

    • Gil Tippy January 30, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

      Hi Lori,

      Thanks for commenting. While I am not exactly ashamed, I do not want people who read my personal opinion blog posts to then go out and do an OT intervention. But as I responded recently to someone who had only seen my videos through youtube, I end up, as a Clinical Psychologist, having to coordinate treatment across interventions for consumers who are confused and overwhelmed sometimes. I have opinions, because I have seen people told that there is only one way to work, and I know that is not true. I have seen, of course, great OT given, and bad OT given, and of course this is only my opinion. I would love to open a dialogue, and I am glad to see such a response from the OT community to an opinion expressed on a blog. Your community seems to be the most active, and motivated, group I have encountered though this month of posting my opinions. My training is entirely what a well read, highly motivated, non-OT in an program creation position with many OT’s employed, with yearly attendance at 3 or 4 conferences and trainings with good SI OT’s could accomplish. Please just consider my posts my opinion, representing myself, but interested in good treatment wherever it can happen.

  4. Gil Tippy February 11, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    I wanted to add a little addendum to this post. I have subsequently had a chance to find out that one of the OT’s I specifically was angry at in the original post is actually doing different work than I was originally told the OT was doing. I called and apologized, and hope to talk to them tomorrow. I was really angry at the aggregate of the years I have had to see families get told things that were not true, and get services that were not helpful to their kids. I did not intend to direct this anger at the profession in general, or at specific OT’s who are doing good work. Also, remember, this blog is purely my opinion about things, and the mistakes I make are totally mine.

  5. Juliana September 24, 2010 at 12:50 am #

    What about when me an OT who is focusing on the child as a whole and treating from a bottom up approach is called out by the child’s teachers and school OTs as “not doing their job.” Help me! I’ve had success explaining this to parents and getting them on board then having them second guess me after the teachers ask the parents to question me on my theory. Any tips, thoughts, suggestions on how best to educate teachers and school OTs the importance of our work without being demeaning? And/or how to meaningfully explain our rationale. The new school year just started and I’ve already been approached by 3 parents who’s teachers want to know why I’m not focusing on fine motor skills. HELP!

    • Gil Tippy November 18, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

      Hi Juliana,

      I spent a long time trying to edit Mary’s presentation at Capitol District Beginnings into a form that would be useful to you, and I am going to finally post it today. She does a really nice job talking about doing sensory integration work, and explaining why you would do it, so I hope it helps you and the others who have asked me about this. Maybe if you pair Mary’s explanation with one of my talks about the core deficits of disorders of relating and communicating, we can make some headway. Sorry for the wait, but I hope you like the video.

      Gil

Leave a Reply

